back to pg index

The Sprint Series Finals

The Sprint Finals are sponsored by Joe Scarborough of Scarborough Orienteering and  

The Sprint Series finals will be at Pawtuckaway State Park, Raymond, New Hampshire on Saturday, September 10. Courses by William Hawkins.

Courses by William Hawkins -- "The sprint series finals will, to overuse a phrase, be sweet, and you'll see Pawtuckaway in some ways you've never seen it before... and there will be some outstanding spectating to be had on the final sprint."

Pawtuckaway map: sample 1 | sample 2 | sample 3

Note: You can still run in the Sprint Series Finals if you have run less than 8 qualifying races, or none at all. You wll be put in an appropriate heat.

J-J Coté's Mega-control course (however many controls it takes to set a world record) will be on Sunday the 11th, making an attractive weekend package. In addition, UNO will be offering its traditional camping weekend, with regular recreational courses both Saturday and Sunday, a canoe-O, and a Vampire-O on Saturday evening. For more information on the weekend and how to sign up for camping, see the UNO webpage. Note that you need to sign up for camping in advance. The other recreational events need no pre-registration.

The Mega-control will be a course in the vicinity of 15-20 km with 150-200 controls, the exact number to be determined. There will be options to cut the course short if you wish. Even if you don't do the whole course, it is a chance to set a personal record for the number of controls done in one day.


Entries so far

Pre-registratiom for both the Sprint Series Finals and the Mega-control is required by Saturday, September 3.

To sign up, send the following information by e-mail to the Commissioner:

1. Name
2. Address
3. Club
4. Orienteering Age
5. Gender
6. Sport-ident e-punch #
7. Phone # and e-mail address
8. Any special requests (such as to run in a higher or lower heat than you have qualified for).
9. Events entering (sprint finals or mega-control or both).

Entry fees:

Sprint Series: $25
JJ's Mega-Control Extravaganza: $25
Total if entering both days: $45
Proceeds go to support the US Orienteering Team
Make checks payable to Peter Gagarin and mail checks to Peter Gagarin, PO Box 481, Sunderland, MA 01375. Non-residents of the U.S. may pay on arrival.

In summary -- (1) Send an entry by e-mail (by Sept. 3), and (2) send a check by regular mail (postmarked by Sept. 3).


Saturday, September 3 -- deadline for entries.

Sunday, September 4 -- start lists will be posted.

Saturday, September 10:

11:30 am - 12:30 pm: Check-in at the Neal's Cove pavillion at Pawtuckaway
1:00 pm: Briefing
1:15 pm: Round 1 (lowest heat first, championship heat last)
2:45 pm: Round 2 (lowest heat first, championship heat last)
4:15 pm: Round 3 - finals (lowest heat first, championship heat last)

Remember - win or lose, everyone gets to run in all three rounds.

Sunday, September 11:

9:00 am to 11:00 am: Start window for Mega-control

How the Finals will work

For the finals, people are split into heats of 16 (heat 1 is the Championship heat, then 2, 3, 4, etc.). In each heat the sprinters are seeded #1 through #16. The seeds will be grouped as follows:

group 1 -- seeds 1, 8, 9, and 16.
group 2 -- seeds 4, 5, 12, and 13.
group 3 -- seeds 3, 6, 11, and 14.
group 4 -- seeds 2, 7, 10, and 15.

In round 1, sprinters start in these groups of 4 (mini mass starts), with the top two in each group advancing to the A bracket and the other two going to the B bracket.

For the second round, the A bracket will be split into two sections:

section 1 -- the top two from group 1 and the top two from group 2 in round 1.
section 2 -- the top two from group 3 and the top two from group 4 in round 1

In round 2, sprinters start in these sections of 4 (mini mass starts). The top two from each section will advance to the A final, the other two will go to the A consolation. Ditto for the B bracket.

In the third and final round, once again starts will be in group of 4 (A final, A consolation, B final, B consolation), with final placings based on order of finish.

The other heats will operate in the same way, with heat 2 broken into the C and D brackets after the first round, heat 3 into the E and F brackets, etc.

Who will make the Championship heat (the "Sweet Sixteen")? Who will advance to the A bracket (the "Elite Eight")? Who will advance to the A final (the "Final Four")? And who will be the male and female 2005 Sprint Series Champs? We will see....

Qualifying for the Finals (schedule of qualifying sprints)

Qualification is based on results from all sprints held in North America in 2005 up through August 31, using the following point system --

1. Club levels sprints (winner gets 30 points on down to 30th gets 1 point).
2. Sprints at A meets and other designated regional events like the sprint day at the Team/DVOA training weekend March 5 (winner gets 40 points on down to 40th gets 1 point).
3. Sprints at US Trials, US Champs (Oregon), Canadian Trials, and Canadian Champs (winner gets 50 points down to 50th gets 1 point).
4. Anyone making the A final at the WOC sprint in Japan gets a bonus 50 points.
5. Anyone competing in a Park World Tour event gets a bonus 50 points (can only get this bonus once).

A maximum of 8 sprints can be counted. If you do more, you count the 8 in which you earn the most points. The bonus points races are in addition to your 8 best.

Qualification for the finals at Pawtuckaway -- top 12 based on points who enter the finals are automatic to Championship heat, 4 wild cards at the discretion of the Commissioner, next best 12 who enter are automatic to heat 2 with 4 discretionary, etc. Everyone qualifies for the finals, but it's a question of which heat you qualify for. Who will make the Championship heat?